My Individualism

In short, I ended up pondering on the expression “self-centered” and, to test this concentration on myself, I plunged into the reading of scientific and philosophical works. Now times have changed, and people who have any sense at all must understand the problem I have been talking about. But at that time, I had the intellectual level of a child and the world around me was hardly more advanced. In fact, I had no other way out.

from Soseki Natsume “My Individualism & The Philosophical Foundations of Literature” (Translated by Sammy I. Tsunematsu)

Leave a Reply

