Denial of Peter

Jesus Predicts the Denial of Peter
Matthew 26:31-35 (Mark 14:32-43; Luke 22:31-34; John “13:36-38)

(31-32) Jesus told his disciples, “Tonight, you will all go away from me as it is written by the Prophet Zechariah in Zechariah 13:7, ‘I will strike the shepherd. The sheep of the flock will be scattered.’ But I will rise from the dead, and I will see you again in Galilee.”
(33-35) Peter said, “If everyone else goes away from you, I will never leave you.” Jesus said, “I tell you the truth: You will say that you do not know me three times before the rooster crows.” Peter said, “I will die for you! I will never say I do not know you!” All the apostles said the same words as Peter.

Peter Denies Knowing Jesus
Matthew 26:69-75 (Mark 14:66-72; Luke 22:54-62; John 18:15-18)

(69-73) Peter sat in the courtyard of the high priest, and a servant girl said to him, “You were with Jesus of Galilee.” Peter said, “No, I do not know Jesus.” Peter went to the gate, and another girl said, “This man is a follower of Jesus of Nazareth.” Peter said with an oath, “I do not know Jesus!” A man went up to Peter and said, “Yes, you are a follower of Jesus. You speak with an accent like someone from Galilee.”
(74-75) Peter began to curse himself and swear, “I do not know Jesus!” A rooster crowed. Peter remembered what Jesus had said, “Before the rooster crows, you will say you do not know me three times.” Peter went outside and cried bitterly.

Excerpt From: Andrew Jackson. “International English Bible New Testament.” iBooks. https://itun.es/us/i5aKC.l

Leave a Reply

